A Look Back at the 2018 McGraw Prize Celebration

"Don't ever let anyone tell you that you can't make a difference..." -Reshma Saujani, Founder and CEO of Girls Who Code and 2018 winner of the Pre-K-12 Education Prize.

Making a difference across all aspects of education is a common theme among McGraw Prize winners, including our three recent recipients. The 2018 winners of the prestigious Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education, who were honored during the 9th annual ASU+GSV Summit in San Diego, were:

  • Reshma Saujani, Founder and CEO of Girls Who Code
  • Timothy Renick, Senior Vice President for Student Success and Professor of Religious Studies at Georgia State University
  • Arthur Graesser, Professor in the Department of Psychology and the Institute of Intelligent Systems at the University of Memphis.

In September 2017, several changes were made to the Prize categories to adapt to shifts in the education world. Previously, nominations were accepted in the categories of U.S. K-12 Education, U.S. Higher Education, and International Education. For the 2018 McGraw Prize our winners were recognized in three categories – Pre-K-12 Education, Higher Education and Learning Science Research, respectively – for their dedication to improving education through new approaches and for challenging the status quo.

Congratulations again to our 2018 winners, Reshma, Timothy and Arthur, and thank you for everything you do in improving the state of education for future generations!