Skip to main content

Month: March 2018

Khan Academy founder wins 2018 Visionary of the Year award

When Salman Khan began posting videos on YouTube more than a decade ago, the Silicon Valley entrepreneur had no idea of the celebrity he would gain, nor the impact he would have….

Girls Who Code founder Reshma Saujani hopes to close the gender gap in technology

Watch the video above to learn about the celebrated politican, author and founder/CEO of Girls Who Code, Reshma Saujani….

Recipients of 2018 McGraw Prize in Education Revealed

Next month’s ASU+GSV Summit in San Diego is the venue where three people will be recognized for their innovative contributions to education. They include an individual who has brought coding to girls, another who has dived into the science of learning and a third who has used data to increase student achievement at his university….

Meet Deborah Bial – The Posse Foundation

Deborah Bial is the President and Founder of The Posse Foundation, an organization that identifies public high school students with extraordinary academic and leadership potential who may be overlooked by traditional college selection processes. …

Makers: Reshma Saujani, Founder, Girls Who Code

Reshma Saujani, founder of Girls Who Code, talks about her parents’ inspiration, her unexpected career change, and what it was about risk and failure that made her want to start Girls Who Code….

Renick Garners National Recognition For Strides In Higher Education

Timothy Renick, senior vice president for student success, is the winner of the 2018 Harold W. McGraw Jr. Prize in Education for Higher Education. The award recognizes outstanding individuals who have dedicated themselves to improving education through successful, innovative approaches. McGraw Prize winners were recognized in three global categories: Higher Education, Learning Science Research and Pre-K-12 Education….

The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education 2018 Winners Announced: Arthur Graesser, Timothy Renick and Reshma Saujani

Winners of the Prestigious Award to be Honored at the 2018 ASU+GSV Summit in San Diego NEW YORK, N.Y. (March 6, 2018) – The winners of the 2018 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education, one of the most prestigious awards in the field, were announced today. Founded in 1988 to honor Harold W. McGraw,…

UTEP President Diana Natalicio Named a Fortune 'Top 50 Leader'

Longtime University of Texas at El Paso President Diana Natalicio has been named one of Fortune magazine’s “Top 50 Leaders.”…

National Organization is Delivering on the Promise of Public Education: Ellen Moir's Story

Money, guidance, working conditions, and mobility. These are the four biggest influences that determine a teacher’s decision to continue his or her work in the classroom, or leave the field altogether. What many don’t always know, is that guidance is one of the most important resources for teachers, and makes a real difference for their…

‘Radical’ Educator Pushes Boundaries and Brings Results: Dennis Littky's Story

Boring. That was the consistent answer Dennis Littky received when he asked students to describe high school in one word. While that may not come as a surprise to many educators, to Littky it was a blaring call to action. With more than a million students dropping out of high school each year, he found…