Skip to main content

Penn Graduate School of Education


Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education winners have dedicated their careers to transforming education for students in pre-K through higher education to make a difference in their lives today and in the future. Explore McGraw Prize winners’ impact below.

Introducing transformative perspectives

Carol D. Lee, 2021 Prize Winner

Dr. Carol D. Lee (Northwestern University), the 2021 McGraw Prize winner in Learning Science Research, has had a profound and lasting impact on the learning sciences by introducing transformative perspectives to the field.

Improving the educational trajectories of children with special learning needs

Douglas H. & Lynn S. Fuchs, 2021 Prize Winners

Trailblazers in the field of special education, Drs. Douglas H. and Lynn S. Fuchs (Vanderbilt University), the 2021 McGraw Prize winners in PreK-12 Education, have played a key role in improving the educational trajectories of children with special learning needs.

Pushing the boundaries on personalized learning

Richard Baraniuk, 2021 Prize Winner

Engineer, entrepreneur, and researcher Dr. Richard G. Baraniuk (Rice University), the 2021 McGraw Prize winner in Higher Education, has pushed the boundaries on personalized learning and revolutionized college publishing by putting free and open-source books in the hands of tens of millions of students and faculty worldwide through OpenStax.

Moving from Diversity to Equity in Higher Education

Estela Mara Bensimon, 2020 Prize Winner

Estela Bensimon (University of Southern California) has dedicated her career to solving racial inequity and fighting for racial justice in order to build a better system of higher education for all students nationwide. Bensimon’s equity scorecard process stimulated a paradigmatic shift in higher education, inspiring faculty and administrators to accept institutional responsibility for student success. Through the Center for Urban Education, Dr. Bensimon's methods for recognizing and addressing racialized behavior have reached more than 600 higher education institutions and university systems.

Illuminating How Students Learn

Michelene Chi, 2020 Prize Winner

Michelene Chi (Arizona State University) has shaped our understanding of how students learn, transforming how educators teach science to students of all ages. Dr. Chi’s work has advanced our understanding of how active learning, self-explanation, and learning in interactive settings can increase student understanding and retention to ultimately reduce achievement gaps.

Igniting Joy in Science Learning

Joseph Krajcik, 2020 Prize Winner

Joseph S. Krajcik (Michigan State University) has worked with science teachers to reform teaching in order to promote student engagement in and the learning of science through project-based learning. He led the development of the Next Generation Science Standards and the framework on which they’re based, leading to advancements in science education that have been adopted by teachers, districts, and states across the nation and impacted systems worldwide. His work has opened the door for traditionally marginalized students to learn like scientists—and ultimately become scientists.